A Publication of WTVP

Dr. Heather Meredith McLauchlan is an assistant professor of clinical pediatrics at the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria, where she also serves as director of the M3 Pediatrics Clerkship and Cystic Fibrosis Associate Pediatric Program. Upon moving to central Illinois in 2003, Dr. McLauchlan began practicing as a general pediatrician and took charge of UICOMP’s third-year students’ clinical pediatrics training. In 2008, she became medical director of her practice’s Reach Out and Read program, and she has served as the Cystic Fibrosis Associate Pediatric Program director since 2010, caring for patients at monthly clinics and serving on the Cystic Fibrosis Quality Improvement Team.

Dr. McLauchlan was named a Caterpillar Faculty Scholars Fellow in 2004-2005, joining its advisory board in 2012. She also participates in the Illinois Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics’ Reaching Our Goals program, working to increase vaccination rates and advocating immunization as an Immunization Champion, a title she earned in 2009.

A former member, chair or vice-chair of a multitude of UICOMP committees and subcommittees, Dr. McLauchlan currently serves on UICOMP’s Committee on Student Awards and Scholarships, Committee on Instruction and Appraisal, Education Committee, Faculty Performance Review Committee, Department of Pediatrics Executive Committee, and Peoria Curriculum Committee. She also sits on the Gold Humanism Honor Society Committee and University Pediatrics Medical Home Quality Improvement Team, and has previously served on the Pediatric Peer Review Subcommittee for OSF Saint Francis Medical Center and the Illinois Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics Bright Futures Advisory Committee. Alongside her professional commitments, Dr. McLauchlan volunteers for her sons’ Cub Scouts pack and is president of the Advent Lutheran Church Council in Morton.

Among a long list of accolades, Dr. McLauchlan is a recipient of the Elisabeth L. Demonchaux Prize in Pediatrics, Boston Combined Residency Program Medical Student Teaching Award, UICOMP Celebration of Teaching Excellence Recognition, UICOMP Faculty of the Year Award and Raymond B. Allen Instructorship/Golden Apple Award. iBi